World War I Memories Everywhere in this Part of France

World War I memorial and cemetery for allied troops in Arras.

World War I memorial and cemetery for allied troops in Arras.

You cannot travel far in this part of France without seeing World War I memorials large and small. The graveyard and memorial in Arras was especially moving. 

IMG_1285I was able to go to the Cathedral in Reims (another Notre Dame) and meditate on Uncle Frank Denham for a few minutes. He is not forgotten. 

The Tour television coverage in France includes many quiet moments with the helicopter camera hovering over World War I memorials. I hope the coverage in the US is doing the same. IMG_1288

 

IMG_1157

6 thoughts on “World War I Memories Everywhere in this Part of France

  1. I visited my great-uncle’s grave in Epinal, France. He was killed at the Battle of the Bulge at age 18. I grew up with the story of his death (and his brother’s, who was killed at sea and is memorialized at Pearl Harbor), but it changed my view of the world to see his grave and the area of France in which he was killed.

  2. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your site
    and detailed information you present. It’s great to come across a
    blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out
    of date rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

