Nurturing the Creative Spark

Maintaining my creative drive is as hard as starting a campfire. I get excited about something–that is as easy as striking a match–and then a gust of wind comes up like a phone call or the thought of billable hours and the spark is extinguished.

Kara Walker's exhibition at Crocker Art Museum is inspiring.

Kara Walker’s exhibition at Crocker Art Museum is inspiring.

Then I pop into the Crocker Art Museum to see Kara Walker’s silhouettes and I am inspired. I am reminded of the beautiful puppet theater in Cambodia and I purchase the silly silhouettes in the gift shop.

Then this morning I work up at 5:30 and finish Kurt Vonnegut’s Palm Sunday.  The author gave it a “C” grade on page 284 so I feel no embarrassment for thinking it quite mediocre. I got it from the Evenstar Little Library and I kept reading because the first chapters were about book censorship and school boards and Indianapolis and I thought “I will share this with Brian who was just elected to the school board and is from Indiana.” I finished it because I am compulsive that way. This book would have snuffed creative spark except that it signals to me that even pretty good writers do not always produce a Slaughterhouse Five.

Persistence is the way to get creativity to go from a spark to a small blaze.  Some might say perspiration (as in 10 percent inspiration, 90 percent perspiration). Tricks and stratagems are okay too.  I have loved puppets my whole life having been weaned on the Muppets so I bring my silly museum bought silhouette’s to bed and play with them.  And try to find a way to take a picture and laugh aloud, which is a much better way to start the day than getting up and checking my calendar and listening to sad NPR memorials of Nelson Mandela, God rest his soul.

Spirit of St Louis flies too close to Eiffel Tower!

Spirit of St Louis flies too close to Eiffel Tower!

What is the point of a redesign if you cannot bring your coffee and your computer to bed and spend a portion of the morning writing silly blogs and playing with puppets?

 

Leave a Reply

