Evenstar Little Library Experiment

The idea for a community library box started in the fertile field of reading about someone else’s library box in the newspaper. Then a seed was planted when I received some books from Mr. Adan and bought some too. This led to a bookshelf purge of books I have read or never intend to read. I also have a lot of magazines that I have been recycling to a hospital via a friend that I can add.

In laundry room against the sliding glass doors leading out to the clotheslines.

In laundry room against the sliding glass doors leading out to the clotheslines.

It seemed simple enough: buy an inexpensive shelving unit, register my books with Bookcrossing, put all in community laundry room in my complex and see what happens.  I spent $22 at Target on the build-your-own wire basket unit and only used half of it. (Room for expansion.) In about 2 hours I had everything done and installed in the laundry.

I went online to see if there is a website for small community libraries. Of course there is: Little Free Library.org. On the “getting started” page they encourage me to write a press release, get family and friends involved and fundraise for the $34.95 to register my little library.  Um, no thanks. The final step they suggest is a celebration for the opening of the library. Now that I can possibly embrace.

When I moved in I imagined hosting a kube party and other celebrations.  Until  I met everyone and realized how disparate and busy my neighbors are. Maybe my urge to create this library is an opportunity to give the community party a try. Plus I have been wanting to bake the Smitten Kitchen’s slab apple pie.

There are 10 apartment homes that use the laundry room on a regular basis. One unit is empty. I have met all but 1 person who lives here and regularly speak to 5 of my neighbors. Next weekend I have time to make the pie and host a Sunday afternoon celebration.  I can invite everyone for a slice of pie and ask them to bring a used book or magazine or video to share with the library. Then see what happens. I will keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “Evenstar Little Library Experiment

  1. My friends in Atlanta have a little community library that they built for their neighbors. Unfortunately, it got destroyed by a freak storm over the summer. It’s a super cute idea!

Leave a Reply

