Postcard from Oamaru, New Zealand

I arrived in New Zealand yesterday for 10 days of penguin viewing, travel blogging, visiting with friends, and World of Wearable Art in Wellington with UK Sarah.  I will blogging in some detail on http://americanjulie.com.  I hope you are able to “follow me”.

Waiting for yellow eyed penguins

Waiting for yellow eyed penguins

This morning I woke up early to go Bushy Beach in Oamaru to watch the yellow eyed penguin walk from its nest in the bush across the sand to the sea.  I had a quiet, solitary hour listening to birds, watching a mother fur seal and baby snooze on the beach, and just about the time I felt like a popsicle, one solo penguin appeared and sauntered across to the sea.  Like so many things in life, the sweetest rewards come with patience.

I need to check out, so I best wrap up. I am pushing the limits of check out so I could finish watching the America’s Cup.  People here are close to nervous breakdown. No relief today. It is all on the line in tomorrow’s one race. Sudden death!

 

 

 

One thought on “Postcard from Oamaru, New Zealand

Leave a Reply

