Encouraging Words

This week has been damn hard.  I have to work full-time to not worry or completely stress out.  I remind myself that if I were in the US I’d be one of many people struggling to find work that fits their skills and salary requirements.  I have two possible jobs in the offing and one more I applied for this week.  My complaint is really one of suspense.  Nonetheless, it has been an up and down week.

On Monday I had the real joy of spending the day with the Yoder family from Sacramento.  I watched Jack and Tommy jump off Sky Tower twice (each), and had wonderful conversations with Stephanie and Paul.  They left the next morning for South Island and I went into a funk.  It was the first time I could honestly say I felt homesick.  Not for the place, but for the people.  I have met wonderful people here and I’m my way to building some great friendships, but it will be a long time before I have the ease of shared memories, culture and understanding that I have with Stephanie.

By Wednesday I had processed it enough to know that even with all that considered, I want to stay in New Zealand.  Since then, I have been like Pac Man gobbling up every encouraging word I could find in e-mails, snail mail and in the daily encouragement I receive from Michelle K., the head cheerleader for our National Novel in a Month writer’s group.  I know I’m not the only one who needs a positive word now and then, so here is some of the words that have lifted me up:

You’ve done what others can only dream of. I tell someone almost every day about you.

We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and
trials, for we know that they are good for us-they
help us learn to endure. And endurance develops
strength of character in us, and character strengthens
our confident expectation of salvation. And this
expectation will not disappoint us.   Romans 5:3-5

Praying for you.

Best choc chip cookie I’ve ever tasted – thanks. Will be thinking positively of you and getting job offers.

We miss you!

Keep breathing. You don’t know what the path is. 🙂

You are all those things! And loved!

He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.  Isaiah 40:29-31

The pic you posted of yourself sure radiates with your happiness.  What a great gift you gave yourself.

She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she
laughs with no fear of the future. Proverbs 31:25

Psalm 121

Another thing you said that I liked is, “ I can’t control events, only my attitude”. The better the attitude, the better the events you encounter. I liked that you told bothersome thoughts to scram! I like “later gator, I don’t need to think about this right now”. Another one I like to tell myself is that everything always works out for me, and it does.

I miss u and I miss your face 2

The last few chapters of Rob Bell’s Love Wins

Thanks to all of you (and not all of you are quoted here) who have said “Atta girl” in one way or another.  I hope I have the opportunity to return the favor.

Post script:  I’ll see the Yoders this week and we will celebrate Thanksgiving together.

2 thoughts on “Encouraging Words

  1. It is hard to be in the place of needing encouraging words – humbling, I guess, but wow – it is also amazing how God can use those few small words here and there! We are continuing to pray for you and your update is so helpful to know how to pray!

    We love you so and though we miss you like crazy, we are proud of you and we excited to see what God has in store (I know you are too and if He could hurry up and show His hand, that would be better still!).

    Wish there was a way to e-hug. Sending one now! Bless you, my dear friend.
    Your friends at SacFriends lifted you in prayer corporately today and it is our honor to do so!

    ‘For he satisfies the longing soul,
    and the hungry soul he fills with good things.’ (Psalm 107:9)

    XOXO
    Tyla

  2. I finally have some time off (and your issue is too much time off! Strange…) and am catching up on your blog. Yes, I am so busy I don’t even have time to read blog posts by dear friends. But I decided to take the whole week of Thanksgiving off and not travel anywhere. The result is time for my kids and myself and my friends. What a luxury. Not enough time, of course! I hope by the time you read this comment that your spirits are lifted and you have received multiple job offers. I’m looking forward to hearing about the lucky employer; they don’t, of course, know how lucky they are yet.

Leave a Reply

