Untethered

I had a very weird dream last night… I was in an office building on the 3rd or 4th floor with a few other people when we experienced an earthquake. Instead of the building falling down, the building floated up. I remember thinking, “Oh Lord, is this it? Is my time up? I’m ready Lord. What about Tevis and Sarah? …I have an insurance policy and it will be enough money… will they be okay?” Still the building is floating above the city. Then I began to think “Wow, we haven’t landed yet. Maybe I’ll survive afterall.” Then I woke up.

Later today I am meeting with my attorney to talk about my move and I realize that it will be more challenging than I first anticipated. When I got to my car I wanted to breathe into a paper bag. I was so full of anxiety. I tried calling a couple of people and left a couple of messages. Realizing that this will be good practice for when I am on the other side of the world and in a different time zone, I began coaching myself.

Nothing has really changed since yesterday. I knew it was going to be tricky to make such a big move. Once I figured out some good things that will come out of this even if I do not get to accomplish my goal in the way I have envisioned, I began to relax. Then I met up with some friends and we began trying to top each others’ bad day. We all ended up laughing and feeling better.

On the way home, one of the friends I had left a message with called me back. I related this tale and we talked about how I am pulling up roots so of course I feel untethered. I came up with a metaphor that works for me for now. Instead of being an oak tree with roots that go wide and deep, I am a Meyer Lemon in a big pot. I am still producing a lot of fruit, but I am portable.

Thanks Harriet for being my first blog subscriber. Your friendship means the world to me.

Just 12 more sleeps till bon voyage.

3 thoughts on “Untethered

  1. in my by now quite extentive EQ experience thats just what EQs feel like. The ground doesn’t stay where you expect it to be and you may as well be on the floor or the ceiling

Leave a Reply

